Backup Sites

Backups save images, files, content—everything on the site is backed up except eCommerce data.

You can save copies of your site called backups. Backups allow you to restore to them at any point in time. While our system automatically creates backups each time a site is published, it is recommended to create manual backups of your site periodically instead of relying on the automated backup system in place.

In general, it is a good idea to create a backup:

  • After you are satisfied with the look of your site.
  • After you have finished a hard-to-do task (such as importing several pictures, coding, and so on).
  • Before adding any custom code or doing any big changes to the site.

There is a limit of 30 automated backups and 10 manual backups that can be stored. New manual backups override earlier manual backups, thus your earliest manual backup is deleted when you create a new one. This is also the case for automatic backups; the earliest automatic backup is deleted when a new one is created. Automated backups get deleted out of the backup list often because of how it is structured. If you want to keep an automated backup, simply restore to an automated backup, and then create a manual backup from that.

Automated Backups

Automated backups are created after:

  • Republishing
  • Adding or removing the multi-language feature
  • Restoring a backup
  • Deleting a site
  • Accessing developer mode
  • Resetting a site
  • Changing a site layout

Create Manual Backups

  1. In left panel, click Settings, and then click Backup Site.
  2. Type a New Version Name for the backup.
  3. Click Save.

Restore From Backup

  1. In left panel, click Settings, and then click Backup Site.
  2. Click the Restore link next to the backup you want to restore.
  3. Type a name for your backup.

Delete Backups

  1. In the left panel, click Site Settings, and then click Backup Site.
  2. Click the Delete link next to the backup you want to delete.

Blog Backups

Blog content is backed up when your site is backed up. If you restore a backup, the blog will be the one in the restored version of the site. Note that you will not see the restored version until the restored site is published. Until then, the run time and editor will look different, as with any site backup.

A post on a non-published restored version of a blog will not be live until the restored site is published (unlike with regular posts, which do not require the site to be published again for the post to go live).

As always, a new backup version is automatically created when restoring a back up version.